Citizen of the Year Winners 2020

Published: Wednesday, 5 February 2020 at 11:34:21 AM

The annual Shark Bay Australia Day Breakfast and Presentation was held on Sunday, 26 January 2020 at the Denham Town Hall. The Shire of Shark Bay received eleven nominations for the four award categories. All nominees were recognised for their active citizenship and significant contribution to the Shark Bay community.


The Citizen for the Year Awards were presented by the Shire President, Cheryl Cowell and awarded to the following recipients:

  • Citizen of the Year – Brian Child
  • Citizen of the Year (Senior) – Maureen Hoult
  • Citizen of the Year (Youth) – Kyle Dobney
  • Citizen of the Year (Community Group) – Shark Bay Speedway Club

The nominees included: Rebecca Moroney, Patricia Weston, Sharna Timmer, Cheryl Rowe, Karen Gidley, Des Matthews and Volunteer Maine Rescue Shark Bay.


Thankyou to the Shark Bay Community Resource Centre for hosting this year’s event and the Shark Bay Entertainers for providing the morning entertainment.

Winners 2020 Citizen of the Year

Picture (left to right): Kyle Dobney, Maureen Hoult, Brian Child and Mick Reynolds (President, Shark Bay Speedway Club)

Back to All News